Registration Notice

Due to increased spam, forum registration must be manually approved by a moderator! Please see this post for instructions.

1/35 first build guidance.
« on: May 13, 2020, 05:29:56 AM »
Hi all.

So... I'm new here. I have for many years had an unfinished full option Tamiya Sheridan on a shelf (the programming proved VERY difficult for some reason and it was shelved for a better day). And a Heng Long jagdpanther that is beside it.

What I'm keen on is the build. I have a 1/35 STRV 103C I want to RC and was thinking due to size the scout board would be best rather than the full TCB which I believe will be too big.

I was just wondering if anyone had already done similar 1/35 conversions with open panzer? 

And as a new I will have loads of questions, but will assist where I can. I am a mechanical designer by trade (automotive industry at the moment but my past includes handheld electronics, antennas etc). I'm not bad at soldering and make many of my own SMD PC s all hand soldered (including QFN packages). I'm a dab hand (since 1998) at 3D CAD including solid works, Catia, pro/E (Creo) and now at home fusion 360.

As I say. I will ask... But always try to help too.

Tschüss

(PS images Brit that's lived in central Germany for 7 years)

Offline LukeZ

• View Profile
  • France
Re: 1/35 first build guidance.
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2020, 06:31:32 AM »
Hi Tschüss, welcome to the forum. I'm sure your many skills will be useful for tinkering with tanks and I saw your other post about soldering SMD micro-SD card sockets, thanks.

As for the Scout, as you may know it is only a speed control (ESC) so by itself won't allow you to do much other than drive two motors, but for 1/35th scale there are much smaller ESCs that would be better choices.

I agree with you the TCB will no doubt be too large to fit into a 1/35 scale model. It might be just possible to fit one into a 1/24th scale model, such as the VsTank and FOV type models, if they are still sold.