Registration Notice

Due to increased spam, forum registration must be manually approved by a moderator! Please see this post for instructions.

Offline Outofmydepth

• A complete Novice!
    • View Profile
  • Devon UK
Pyro ignition
« on: April 10, 2018, 07:16:24 PM »
Hello everyone, just joined having bought my firstly RC model, a 1/8th scale tank for which I have also bought one of the open panzer boards. I will be using connectors 1-4 for esc's and 6-8 for the sound card and was wondering what connection I might use for a rotating 12 shot pyro unit? These are ignited electrically. Could I use the Aux socket for this? Many thanks for any assistance provided!

Offline LukeZ

• View Profile
  • France
Re: Pyro ignition
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2018, 08:01:27 PM »
Hi and welcome to the forum! It would help to know what kind of signal your pyro unit requires, and how much current it draws. But yes, the Aux output is one possibility. Since you aren't using the onboard turret motor controllers for your turret, those can also be re-purposed as electronic switches (2 amps each). The smoker output can also be re-purposed as a switch if you aren't using a conventional smoker (up to 3 amps). Finally, there are general purpose outputs A & B that could be used, these are low-current outputs but you can attach a relay to them to drive larger loads.

Not many 1/8 scale tanks out there, and probably even fewer with pyro units. Feel free to post pictures of your project in the Show and Tell section, I'm sure a lot of people would be interested to see more about it.
NO SUPPORT THROUGH PM - Read why
Need a forum account? Read here
Open Panzer FAQs

Offline Outofmydepth

• A complete Novice!
    • View Profile
  • Devon UK
« Reply #2 on: April 11, 2018, 04:56:38 AM »
Hi Luke,